

Annual General Meeting Nelson Bay Bowling Club 1900 Monday 14 Oct 2019

Attendance

Committee Members: Geoff Washington (GW), Nigel Waters (NW), Alistair Waddell (AW), Cath Norman (CN), Denis Pittorino (DP), Ben van der Wijngaart (BW).

Members & Members of the Public: 32

Apologies

Bill and Lorence Salter Ian and Judy Hearn, Geoff Basser, Lee Richardson.

Guest Speaker

1. The booked guest speaker, Andrew Smith CEO of the Worimi Land Council failed to appear.

Previous Minutes

2. **Moved**: JJ, **Seconded**: AW that the minutes of the previous AGM on 15 Oct 2018 be passed. **Agreed** by consensus.

REPORTS

President's Report

3. The President read his annual report, a copy of which is posted in the TRRA Dropbox and on Website.

4. The President concluded be expressing his thanks to Committee Members and others who had worked so hard during the last year to further the aims of TRRA. He also brought to special notice the particular support received from Kate Washington MLA, CLRs John Nell, Jamie Abbott and Giacomo Arnott.

Planning Sub-Committee Report

5. JJ and NW presented a report on projects and issues that were the subject of submissions or investigations during the past year, including:

- a. 1 Yacaaba St development,
- b. The Donald St car park,
- c. 220 Soldiers Point Road,
- d. The Soldiers Point Marina development proposal,
- e. Foreshore Drive improvements,
- f. Stockton Road storage facility DA,
- g. 31 Leonard Ave, Shoal Bay,
- h. 527 Ondine Close
- i. The Sunrise 'caravan park',
- j. Halifax Park Lot 424,
- k. Tanilba House,
- I. Mambo Wetlands,
- m. The Fleet St development at Soldiers Point,

6. NW also covered the status of active DAs and development proposals before the State Government, in which TRRA had expressed an interest and that were still to be resolved. These included:

- a. The height limits for Nelson Bay, which are currently still before the Gateway process prior to further exhibition if approved;
- b. The completion of the medium density dwelling on the old Bunnings site in Nelson Bay;
- c. The Birubi transport interchange;
- d. The Anna Bay oval site to be developed by the Irukandji Shark and Ray encounter business;
- e. The Bob's Farm sand mine proposal; and the Treescapes Koala Hospital.
- 7. A copy of this report is posted in the TRRA Dropbox and on the website.

8. There were a number of questions from the floor and a response from CLR Nell who stressed the futility of sending emails to Councillors on issues as they received floods of these. He urged residents to call rather than email.

Treasurers Report

9. The Treasurer presented his report.

	End of September	As at the time of the
		annual general meeting
Opening Balance:	\$2,645.83	\$ 3,129.20
Closing Credit Balance	\$2,705.83	\$2,705.83

10. **Moved**: DP, **Seconded**: John MacInerny that the report be accepted. **Agreed** by consensus.

11. A copy of that report is posted in the TRRA Dropbox.

COMMITTEE ELECTION

12. All members of the committee stood down and the Returning Officer, Peter Dundas Smith, declared and all positions vacant. Nominations were received for all positions and therefore all positions were filled without need for voting. All were duly elected as indicated:

- a. President Ben van der Wijngaart
- b. Vice-President John James
- c. Secretary Bill Salter
- d. Treasurer Denis Pittorino.
- e. General Committee Members Geoff Washington, Nigel Waters, Cath Norman, Geoff Basser, Hazel Driver, Chris Peters and Robyn Williams.

13. The newly elected resident moved a vote of thanks by acclamation for retiring President Geoff Washington who had served 8 years as president and to date 13 years as a founding member TRRA.

Meeting Closure

14. The meeting closed at 2040 hours.

Ben van der Wijngaart Secretary

17 October 2019